Third Time Charm at the Toronto Yoga Show

It started two years ago with my introduction to The Three Minute Egg. Now it will be a “third time charm” attending the Toronto Yoga Show and Conference.

namast-eggImage courtesy of 3ME Canada (Trillium Connection)

The Canadian distributor, Samara Zoetmulder, owner of Trillium Connection,  kindly sent me a set of the Namast-Eggs, pictured above.  She had been introduced to the Eggs at the Toronto Yoga Show and Conference in 2012 and was immediately hooked on the beauty of these yoga props. After using the Eggs, and attending the 2013 show to meet Samara, I was also hooked.

It might have been seeing this restorative pose, using the Three Minute Eggs.

restorative pose, SamaraImage courtesy of 3ME Canada (Trillium Connection)

I was also hooked on the Yoga show. This year’s show and conference, in the North Building of the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, begins on Thursday, April 9, and runs until Sunday, April 12.  You can check out the full schedule here.

On Friday, Saturday and Sunday, you’ll be sure to notice the Yoga Garden Area, where there’ll be continuous demonstrations for participants to join. There is something almost empowering to be with a group of more than 100 yogis. Even if you choose not to participate, it’s a wonder to watch. There is also the Cultural Arts Area where there are presentations on the various aspects of yoga.

Organizers describe the show as “A 3-day urban yoga retreat designed to galvanize, grow, educate and inspire your practice.” Some of the conference sessions are geared more towards yoga teachers than the “average” practitioner, but there is definitely something for everyone.

With more than 300 workshops, 60 master instructors, and 250 exhibitors, how could there not be something that will appeal to you?

In between or after the sessions, you can grab some lunch or dinner provided by one of the food vendors. Or you can explore the area after the show and visit one of many local restaurants.

I have to thank Samara for her generosity introducing me to the Three Minute Eggs. I use them frequently as they are extremely versatile—not only for yoga, but for Pilates, and stretching.

It will be a “third time charm” visit at the Toronto Yoga Show and Conference. You might even see me in the Garden trying out a new pose or prop.

The Toronto Yoga Show – 2015

“Spend time shopping amongst 250+ conscious minded organizations and companies offering products and services inline with your mindful attitudes. Participate in over 60 hours of Yoga, Cultural Arts and Lectures.”

 HOURS:

Friday, April 10, 2015 • 10:00 am – 8:00 pm

Saturday, April 11, 2015 • 10:00 am – 8:00 pm

Sunday, April 12, 2015 • 10:00 am – 6:00 pm

 LOCATION:

Metro Toronto Convention Centre, North Building
255 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

 ADMISSION and TICKET PURCHASE:

Show Floor Admission is $15 for ALL 3 days April 10-12, 2015

(Workshops are not included in this. See the website for more details)

$15 Show Floor Tickets can be purchased on site or online

Full details here

8 thoughts on “Third Time Charm at the Toronto Yoga Show

  1. Doreen, Samara says the Eggs can absolutely be used for the type of support you mentioned. I’m going to try it and let you know. I’ll see Samara at the show to report back to her.

    1. Thx for letting me know, Christine. Right now, the pillow I’m using seems to be doing the trick, but she may want to start using that as a marketing angle, as there are many people like me who have join issues and difficulty getting comfortable. Have fun at the show!

      1. You’re welcome, Doreen. The smaller “Junior Eggs” seem to work better for this, and yes, Samara is telling people about how putting an Egg between your ankles, knees or thighs can help alleviate joint and low back problems. I purchased the smaller ones yesterday and used them last night for a while.
        The show was a lot of fun, and I took a Pilates class that was really good. The teacher was someone I met in the early 2000s when I wrote a profile of her studio and some early marketing/teaching materials she was using. It was nice to catch up with her.

  2. Looks like an amazing show, Christine! Wish I could be there to join you. Those three-minute eggs look intriguing. Can you sleep with one if you need support under the knees or ankles as I do?

    1. I’m looking forward to the show, Doreen, as there is always something new. Although I don’t do yoga regularly, I incorporate it into my other exercises. I hadn’t seen anything like the Three-Minute Eggs either and I really like them. I have interviewed the designer, but haven’t found a good market for the story (yet.) I hesitate to publish that on the blog because I want a wider audience. I’d include Samara’s business in the story of course. I’ve asked her about supporting your knees or ankles with the Eggs. The new Junior Eggs might work better for that. I’ll let you know what she thinks.

Leave a Reply

