WITH A LITTLE HELP FROM MY FRIENDS

You never know when you’ll get the help you need from friends, and sometimes they may not even know they’ve given it to you. Thanks to some friends, I’m finally able to get back to my blog posts. Oh, I’ve started and stopped many times over the past few months, but I never really felt anything was good enough.  I was feeling very insecure about my writing—thinking that no one would be impressed by it. So I basically gave up trying to write anything for the blog, and just stuck to other writing I needed to do—assignments from others. It’s often much easier to write for someone else than it is to write for yourself.

Then, yesterday, my friend, Toronto, Ontario writer Luigi Benetton posted this quote from writer Thornton Wilder (1897-1975) on Facebook, “If you write to impress it will always be bad, but if you write to express it will be good.”

Thank you, Luigi.

Seeing that quote gave me a much-needed boost, and made me realize that I perhaps had been trying to impress with what I was trying to write in my blog and since I couldn’t even impress myself, how could I expect anyone else to be impressed? That quote made me realize that it is much more important to keep writing the blog to express my thoughts or feelings and I hope, to educate or entertain my readers.

I was also having some trouble figuring out what to write about. In my last post, you might remember that I was all gung-ho about researching and writing about chronic pain management. I thought there might even be a book forthcoming. Well, one of the first things you have to do if you’re thinking about writing a book is to do your market research.

In doing this research [into the treatment and management of chronic pain,] I found that there are already a number of books out there on this subject, so the one I was thinking about doing wouldn’t really be anything new. It was time to move on—but to what?

Then, two of the people in my writing group at the 55 Plus Activity Centre here in Napanee said they’d be interested in collaborating on a story. So that gave me a new project, even though it didn’t really give me anything for the blog.  These two people have been in my group for more than two years, and we’ve become friends. We’ve been meeting for several weeks and today, we did our final edits on the story. We’ve called it Strangers With a Connection, and you can connect to it from the Workshop page on my Captions Communications website.

Thank you, Susan and Lloyd.

In our session today, Susan thanked me for helping her with another story that she’s been working on for some time. What she may not realize (until she reads this) that it’s me who has to thank her.

Being there this morning, and have me help her with her story has my creative juices flowing again. She’s inspired me to get back to my writing—not to impress, but to express.

That’s what another friend, Boulder, Colorado writer and coach Lora Freeman Williams is doing with her blog and book, The Wilderness of Motherhood. She is expressing her feelings of feeling lost and finding her way again. Lora has been a great help to me with her Writer’s Life Academy, and we are going to chat about what directions I want to go with my writing career.

Thank you, Lora.

I doubt that Luigi knew what impact that quote he posted would have on me, and I don’t know if Susan realizes how much she’s helping me. Lora may not realize how much she’s already helped me, and I know I can learn more from her. We all need our friends to help us, and isn’t it wonderful when that help comes?

Of course there are lots of friends who help in more ways than I can count or mention. I feel very lucky indeed that I get a little help from my friends when I need it most.

I may have shelved the idea about the chronic pain book, but I haven’t completely given up on writing a book, and I’m sure my friends will help me along that journey too, so stay tuned.

What do you count on your friends for? How have they helped you even when they may not have know they did?

11 thoughts on “WITH A LITTLE HELP FROM MY FRIENDS

  1. Hi Christine. I totally agree! Through my blogging efforts, my fundraising campaign, and the writing of my book, it has been my writer friends who have helped me the most … Spiritually, financially, and via their friendship and knowledge. So looking forward to seeing you and the rest of the PWAC tribe on Tuesday. Cheers!

    1. Thanks, Doreen. I often tell people that were it not for PWAC friends and colleagues who have given me so much I wouldn’t have the career that I have. I also have gained a lot of confidence from friends too, and that helps keep me going.

  2. Hi Christine,
    I wanted to thank you for helping me start writing again. You took the time to meet with me when I was stuck in April. You extended your support and encouraged me to keep going. You also encouraged me to sign up for MAGNET and gave me ideas on how to volunteer and get free sessions in exchange. Your book helped me feel I wasn’t alone. This has led me to want to help others.

    I look forward to seeing you next week.

    Thank you for this post.

    Merle R.

    1. Merle, thank you so much for your kind words. You (and other friends) have helped me too, and I’m glad to hear that I’ve been able to help you with your writing. It’s by helping each other that we all move forward.

      I look forward to seeing you at the conference.

    2. Merle, thank you so much for your kind words. You (and other friends) have helped me too, and I’m glad to hear that I’ve been able to help you with your writing. It’s by helping each other that we all move forward.

      I look forward to seeing you at the conference.

  3. Great post, Christine. I think you and I have been at the same place with our writing muse lately. I’ve kept on blogging, but not feeling it was very impressive. But the smallest of acknowledgement from friends can give a big boost to self-confidence. I thank you and my other friend followers for that. Your support over the years has been especially appreciated. 🙂

    1. You at least kept blogging, Judy. I went totally AWOL on that front. It feels good to be back, and I can only hope I can keep it up. You’re so right that even the smallest acknowledgement from friends can give a big boost to self-confidence. If I’ve helped you with your writing, that makes me feel good. You’ve kept me going too.

  4. Thank you for sharing your very personal and intimate thoughts about your writing, Christine. That, in itself, is worth high praise. I love the inspirational quote Luigi posted. It’s so true. Not everyone will like your writing style or what you have to say. Not everyone will like you, as a person. So what? That doesn’t matter. A writer has to write just like people need air to breathe. Don’t let any negative comments overshadow the fact that your writing has touched many more people.

    When I read the title of this blog it reminded me of what you did to help me. I am going through a difficult time and you took the time to call me to see how I’ve been doing. Then you sent me a simple gift – a small medallion (not sure what it’s really called) that says serenity. I keep it next to my bed and read it every night before I go to sleep and every morning when I wake up. I roll it around in my hand feeling the shape and the positive energy I believe it emits. Such a small token means so much to me, just as the kudos you get from friends and other writers. You are a true inspiration. Keep writing. Hugs!

    1. Suzanne, thank you so much for taking the time to write to me–especially with all you are going through right now. If my little gestures have helped you in some way to make your difficult journey easier, that makes me happy.

      I suppose I have worried too much about whether people would like what I wrote or feel it was worth their time reading it. Thanks for encouraging me to just keep writing for me!

      Hugs to you too!

Leave a Reply

