TIME TO RAMP IT UP

I’m going to be presenting a seminar about blogging in a couple of weeks so I thought I’d better get blogging.

I know that one of the best ways to build an audience for a blog is to post consistently. I could give you a litany of excuses why I haven’t followed this very good advice. All I can say is that I will try to do better.

My articles will continue to cover a broad range of topics, but [I hope] they will all fit into the overall theme of this blog, With Humour and Hope: The Only Way to Live.

When I start to gain more weight than I’m comfortable with, or my energy levels start to wane,  I know it’s time to “ramp it up” when it comes to the frequency and intensity for exercise. I need to work out at the fitness studios, get to those classes, walk more, and pick up those weights more often. The same is true for blogging. Since I want to show others how easy it is to have a blog, and I want to use this blog to increase the number of clients I work with, it’s time to ramp it up. I need to post more often.

While I may not post something every day, there will be more frequent posts, and I will develop a schedule. Now, I am not a creature of habit—just ask my husband who is still trying to figure out what I might want for breakfast so he can set the table accordingly. Sometimes I have eggs; sometimes I have toast (or both); sometimes I have cereal; sometimes I have …you get the point. I usually have juice and coffee or tea, but not always. So he wonders what dishes I might need. I tell him the easiest thing is to put it all out: bowl, plate, cup, glass, and silverware—and I’ll put away what I haven’t used.

I don’t have regular sleep habits either, but they are getting a bit more consistent.

I am a very undisciplined writer in that I don’t keep regular office hours. Some days I might be at the computer for only a few hours; other days are much longer. I am trying to be a bit more consistent there too.

Although I’ll never likely develop a breakfast routine, I can become more habitual in my activities, including more regular posting on my blog.

Thanks to those who have been following my blog since the beginning. Welcome to those who are just joining. I hope you’ll be back. I hope everyone takes some time to post some thoughts on this. Do you have a blog? Has it helped your business, or your life? How?

I will be ramping it up with the posts, so hang on. It could be a bumpy ride.

Here are the details for the seminar:

BLOGGING FOR BUSINESS

Hosted by the Napanee & District Chamber of Commerce

In partnership with

Captions Communications

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

 6:30 to 8:00 p.m.

Napanee Business Centre

47 Dundas Street E.

Napanee

Chamber Members: $15; Non-members: $25

Learn about blogging—what it is; what it isn’t; and what it can mean to your business.

 The presentation will include

  • How to set up a free WordPress blog
  • How to target the right message to the right client at the right time
  • How a blog can be part of a website, or complement an existing website
  • How to promote your blog using social media (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn)
  • How to get others to promote your blog
  • How a blog can bring you more business

Christine will also be available to discuss coming to your workplace and help set up your blog.

Limited Seating

RSVP with the Chamber of Commerce

613-354-6601 or inquiry@napaneechamber.ca

Refreshments will be available

9 thoughts on “TIME TO RAMP IT UP

  1. I know when you put your mind to something you follow through, Christine. I am sure it gets easier to post more regularly if you have a schedule, like Doreen. This is something I will have to look at doing when I start my new blog on specific writing-related topics. Good luck (though I know you don’t need it.

    1. Thanks for that vote of confidence, Suzanne. I’m sure it will get easier.

      I look forward to seeing your new blog. I was talking with a blogger yesterday who is quite successful, and she says that having more than one blog has actually helped increase her readership. She maintains the two by having some guest bloggers for the second one, so that’s something I’m considering. I’m thinking of having a second blog related more to my business activities: writing, teaching, workshop and conference planning, etc. and then keeping my “Humour and Hope” blog more for the personal stuff. There will of course be some cross-over, and everything will be linked.

      As always, your support is much appreciated.

    1. Hi Carolyn:

      Your November Challenge is indeed timely as I’m trying to be more strict in following the Primal Diet. I will indeed be checking this out and signing up. I just got your November Challenge newsletter, and I’m looking forward to reading it.

      I’m doing fairly well and looking forward to doing even better!

      I hope all is well with you too.

  2. I hear you, Christine. Life has a way of getting in the way of things, doesn’t it? And it’s while life’s unexpected turns that great blogging ideas occur — if only you can find the time to write them!

    Now that we’ve got Mom settled, I hope to get back to writing and blog posting. I have many projects on my to-do-list for this winter!

    1. Thanks, Judy. I’m glad that your Mom is getting settled in the new place. Sounds like you will have a lot on the go for the winter. I look forward to reading about on your blog.
      One of the things I’m going to try, to make it easier to post more often, is to write shorter posts. I tend to get carried away, as I do when I’m talking. D’uh!
      Jim took a public speaking course a number of years ago as he was having to do more public presentations and wanted to become more comfortable with it. He said the teacher told them to remember three things: stand up, speak up, shut up. I think I can adapt that. I might even try standing as I write. Some of my work colleagues have ‘standing desks’ and they love them.
      Thanks for your continued support.

  3. Good luck with ramping up your blogging, Christine. It really does take a lot of time and effort. But I love it. And unfortunately… it takes me away from writing my book. But fortunately … a lot of the posts have been modified into a basis for entries in the book. I’ve also used some of my post to modify for paying markets. So try and get double mileage out of your posts. You never know what they might lead to, including you giving a presentation about blogging (which I, too, have done and found it to be fun.) Good luck with it all.

Leave a Reply

