The “side dish” challenge

Ah, the first long weekend of the summer, even though summer doesn’t “officially” start until June 21. Barbecued food will be on many menus this weekend, including mine.  Barbecuing is always a treat—because my husband  does more of the cooking, and having no pots usually makes for easy cleanup. Both of those are a bonus anytime, not just on long weekends.

I haven’t done the full meal plan for the weekend, but I know we have some salmon and chicken wings in the freezer—both definitely good on the bbq.  So those are good starts. But what about the side dishes? Grilled vegetables are great, but I think I need something else to round out the meal. Or do I just think I do?

While following the Living Primal Challenge, I have been pleasantly surprised that I haven’t really missed eating bread, pasta, and rice–which normally would make up part of a meal. For the most part staying off these carbs hasn’t been as hard as I thought it was going to be. But you know what I really miss? Potatoes.  I must admit, it is almost becoming a craving, and I’ve learned that the best way to deal with a food craving is to have a small amount. Otherwise, if you try to deny the craving all together, you wind up eating way more of what you were craving, rather than just a little to satisfy the urge.

So, I’ll admit it. I’ve had some potatoes—not a lot of them, just a few mixed in with some other grilled vegetables on a couple of days last week. That’s when I realized that I really missed potatoes.

So, I’m going to make a potato salad this weekend to go with the grilled meat or fish and vegetables.  I like the mini potatoes. So it’s not a lot of starch.  My potato salad (courtesy of Jane Brody’s Good Food Book) features a dressing made with olive oil, apple cider vinegar, and caraway seeds that is poured over the potatoes while they’re warm. Then you add some grated carrot and chopped green onion, and let the salad cool. It may not be too “primal”, but it’s one of my favourite way to eat potatoes. When you’re satistifying a craving, go for the best right?  I’ll just have to make sure to limit myself to one small-ish portion–now *that* will be a challenge!

I’m also going to get some sweet potatoes for another meal, which aren’t really potatoes, so that will help keep me on track.

Once the weekend is over, and I’ve enjoyed that potato salad and the sweet potatoes, that will be it. I likely won’t crave them again—at least not for a while, and since I will have just had some, I likely won’t even eat them.

I’m almost to the 21-day mark in the Challenge, and I’ve heard that habits start to form after three weeks. So, I think I’m in good shape for a strong finish to the Challenge, and to keep on going.

How’s everyone  doing with whatever is challenging you?

4 thoughts on “The “side dish” challenge

  1. Hi Christine,

    Sounds like you are doing amazingly well with your challenge. Isn’t it cook to realize you actually don’t crave certain things as much as you anticipated (bread, pasta, rice)? What you’ve done for your health by just cutting out those things for the past 3 weeks is HUGE!

    We have been BBQ’g lots lately. Had grilled pork and veggies the other evening, tonight we had burgers (no bun!) and veggie skewers. So yummy, and easy! Can hardly wait for more of these meals over the next 405 months, and as you say, minimal clean up is a bonus!

    Enjoy your long weekend!!
    Carolyn

    1. Carolyn, you are so supportive, and I don’t really feel like I’m doing as well as I could with this challenge. Thinking back, there’ve been too many days when I slipped back into old habits. On the bright side, I’m more aware of doing that, so I hope it will happen less often.

      It is quite amazing to think that I haven’t had pasta or bread (except a couple of small wraps) in almost three weeks–and those were my “go to” foods.

      I’m still having that potato salad, but I didn’t make very much, so I won’t have a lot.

      I’m looking forward to less challenging days ahead.

      Thanks so much for comments, and no worries on the typos–I knew what you meant.

      Enjoy the rest of this glorious weekend!

Leave a Reply

