Things Work Out the Way They Need To

I firmly believe that things happen for a reason, and they happen when they are supposed to, and in the way they are supposed to. Our niece Lesley must believe the same thing, and I heard her express it well when she said (in response to my asking about how something was going to play out), “Things work out the way they need to.”

I love that expression, and use it often. It’s simple and it’s true. Things do work out the way they need to. They may not work out the way you want them to, or the way you wish they would, but they do work out. Once you get over any initial disappointment that things didn’t go the way you planned, you realize that they did work out the way they needed to. At least I come to that realization, and I come to it fairly quickly.

Case in point is this Living Primal Challenge. Do I wish that things were going a little faster—that my increased energy levels would stay high, and that more of my clothes would fit better—my two criteria for a Measure of Success? Of course. But I know that success will come, in due time, and it will be last longer, and feel sweeter, than if it happened quickly and vanished. I came to that conclusion fairly early after starting the challenge.

Tomorrow, Saturday, May 12, marks two weeks since I first heard about this particular challenge to living primal, and decided to take it on. I started slowly for a couple of days and then kicked into high gear on May 1. If you read my post on May 2, Back on the Horse, you know I didn’t get off to the strongest start, but things got better. There’s been some backsliding, which was inevitable, but there have been more good things happening too. I’m getting really good at making smoothies for breakfast that can take me through the entire morning. There is still a lot I need to learn and do if I’m going to make this way of living permanent. I have to decide which changes I can honestly stick with, and which ones I can’t. Some days have been better than others, but at the end of every day I’ve been able to say to myself, “Ok, there may have been things that didn’t work out the way you’d hoped, but it was still a good day.”

As long as I can say that, not only for the rest of this 30-day challenge, but every day, then things will work out the way they need to.

Christine’s Morning Smoothie

¼ c. kale or spinach, torn into bite-sized pieces

¼ c. goat yoghurt

2 Tbsp. almond butter

2 Tbsp. ground flax seeds

2 Tbsp. hemp seeds

1 tsp. honey

¼ to ½ c. fresh or frozen fruit (I’ve used banana, berries, mango, and pineapple)

1 c. almond milk

Blend until smooth. I usually use my hand-held immersible blender, but I use the larger blender if the fruit is especially chunky.

This might seem like an odd combination, but it gives me all a good hit of protein, calcium, and vitamins. It makes two large glasses. I sometimes drink it all at once—or I might sip on the second glass while I’m working. If I have this, I don’t need a mid-morning snack.

4 thoughts on “Things Work Out the Way They Need To

  1. Half way there Christine! Keep up the great progress. I am enjoying following your primal journey blog and hearing that you have learned some new things that work.

    1. Thanks, Kevin. Your encouragement is great. I am indeed learning new things, and one of them is that I don’t miss pasta and bread as much as I thought I might. I do miss crackers. I’m looking forward to trying the sesame seed crackers that Carolyn gave me the recipe for. Fourteen more days, but I’m not sure things are going to change a whole lot after that. We’ll see.

    1. It is indeed very good, Judy. Adding the almond butter takes away some of the nice pink or green colour (depending on the fruit used) but I’m willing to sacrifice that for the extra protein from the almond butter. Sometimes I have this for lunch instead of breakfast. Today it will be lunch–after Zumba class!

Leave a Reply

