THE MEASURE OF SUCCESS

When you take on something new it’s good to have a base line; something to compare later. Most fitness/diet programs recommend that you take your measurements, weigh yourself, and take some “before” photos, and then do it all again along the way, and at the end. That sounds like good advice, and it might be. Kevin and Carolyn recommend it in their book, The Guide to Living Primal.  I’ve done none of that, and I’ve decided I’m not going to.

I’ve decided that I don’t need or want any of those measurements to gauge how successful, or not, this Living Primal challenge is, or will be.  So how am I going to know if it’s worked, and if it’s something I want to stick with?  I kind of already know.

I know that with the exception of the one day when I had the low carb flu, my energy levels have been good and I’ve felt better about being active. Two weeks ago, I found it a challenge to get out for a walk. Most of the time I just felt too tired. And going over to the fitness studio for a workout or the 55 Plus Activity Centre  for even a gentle exercise or yoga class? Forget it. I didn’t have either the mental or physical energy to do any of it.

I was slowly getting over those low feelings when I went to the Healthy Living Expo on April 28. I had such a good time I went back on the 29th. That’s where I met Kevin and Carolyn and found out about the Living Primal challenge. I also took a mini-Zumba class, and spent a total of about 6 hours walking around the show site over the two days. Then, at the end of the second day, I went for a walk along the Moira River in Belleville to get some sun and fresh air.

I started eating in a healthier way, and started to look forward to planning our daily meals. I don’t do this too much ahead of time. We usually decide at breakfast what’s for dinner. But I am giving some forethought when I ‘m shopping about what I might like to cook. I’m also looking for new recipes using things like almond flour, coconut flour, and zucchini. (Did you know you could make noodles from zucchini?)

I’ve been back for two Zumba Gold class at the 55 Plus Activity Centre; back to Fitt For You for a workout, and have another one planned;  gone for a few long walks with my husband; and am generally feeling more energetic than I have in weeks.  Tomorrow I have another workout at the studio and am taking a Flow Class at Zeal Fitness, which I think combines yoga and a few other moves. The real exercise challenge will come on Thursday when I go for a full tilt Zumba class. (It’s a faster pace and a little longer than the Zumba Gold.)  That will be a good measure of my energy level.—or lack thereof.

Another way I’ll judge the success of this program is by how my clothes are fitting. There are some that are feeling a little snug, and I dare say there are likely some summer clothes that wouldn’t fit if I tried them on today.  I really like some of them so that’s motivation enough to keep going.

So if I continue to feel more energetic, and my clothes start fitting better, these will be the ways I measure how the challenge is going.  Who needs the measuring tape, scale, and camera?

8 thoughts on “THE MEASURE OF SUCCESS

    1. Kevin and Carolyn definitely do not recommend getting anal about the measurements. In fact they encourage only taking measurements twice and weighing in weekly–at the very least. I may hop on a scale or take the measurements at some point, but these other measures are working better. You’re so right that slow and steady is the way to go.

  1. I’ve never heard the term low carb flu! I think I have suffered from that on a few occasions. Keep going Christine!

    1. I hadn’t heard of the “low carb flu” either Fran, and I think I’ve likely had it before too. As it says in the book, it’s our body’s way of adjusting to less sugar–and of course the first thing you might think to do is have something sweet, but then that causes the cycle of spiking the blood sugar and then crashing. I was lucky that it didn’t last more than a day. Thanks for the support and good wishes.

  2. Congratulations on all your success so far, Christine! And you are absolutely right – the focus should be on how you feel and how your clothes are fitting – not on scale weight and measurements. I couldn’t agree more. Glad to hear things are moving in the right direction for you. Keep up the great work you are doing!

    1. Thanks, Carolyn. My husband just asked me about the photos this morning and I told him I’d decided against them. There are recent photos taken of me at some family gatherings, and there will be others when we get together again–that will likely be in a month or so. That will be photographic evidence enough for me. Things definitely seem to be moving in the right direction–thanks so much for the advice and support.

  3. Glad you are over the low carb flu and feeling full of enery! The reduced hunger cravings and stable energy levels are the biggest changes that I have noticed with primal eating, and I dare say they are more important than weight loss. Whatever your tracking method the important point is that you are noticing positive changes. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

