DOWN AND UP

I’m really glad that Carolyn Coffin and Kevin Beatty talked about “low carb flu” in their book, The Guide to Living Primal, because I’m pretty sure that’s what I had yesterday, and it was good to be forewarned.  “As our bodies adjust from burning sugar to relying on more fat, there is sometimes a temporary lag before all systems align themselves and function efficiently. This can lead to symptoms of mental fog, fatigue, irritability, and headaches, which are collectively referred to as ‘low carb flu.” Think of this as our bodies’ withdrawal period as we kick our carbohydrate addiction.” (The Guide to Living Primal, Page 34)

Fortunately, I think I’m over it. Getting out of the house helped and I’ll admit to a little cheating with what I ate.

I took advantage of the sunshine by hanging some clothes on the line and getting out for a walk with my husband.  That definitely helped battle the low feeling, but I think what also helped was having a little bit of carbs from a few crackers and some pea soup. So maybe, while I was in the “withdrawal” phase and feeling down, that helped me to get up. I’m hoping I won’t have to use that little “cheat” again—at least for the next few weeks of the challenge.

I’m back on track today, not craving carbs at all. Of course it’s only mid-morning as I write this. But I have meals planned for the day, and it’s a Zumba day–Zumba is a dance/exercise program done to upbeat music, mostly Latin and is done in a group. So I’m off to a good start.

Whether it’s for the exercise or taking on this challenge, I am blessed to have support from my husband, my family, friends, and other Zumba class members. When I’m down, knowing that I have that support helps me get back up.

I’m reminded of a song line–“I get knocked down, but I get back up again; you’re never gonna keep me down.” It’s from a song ‘Tubthumping” by the band Chumba Wumba. Here they are performing it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hDkVQvhZx04   I know, it’s an English football drinking song, but I like it. (Sorry, I know I’ve planted that earworm and you’ll have that song in your head for a while.)

I like this song not only for its uptempo beat, but for its message that while we get knocked down we can get right back up again.

Music can lift me up when I’m feeling down. When you get down, what gets you back up?

8 thoughts on “DOWN AND UP

  1. I think I’m going to have to break down and get The Guide to Primal Living. Glad to hear you were able to get through the Low Carb Flu!

    1. I’m finding it very helpful to have the book. It was a good investment. I’m not following all of the advice (see my next post), but it’s made me think about all of this in a different way, and really focus on what I want out of this program.

  2. Getting together with friends! There’s nothing. nothing. nothing! like a good laugh with friends – or their support when I’m feeling down – to pick me back up again. The benefits of strong social interactions cannot be overstated.

    1. You are so right about that, Carolyn. Having friends around, and sharing a good laugh is indeed so helpful, especially if we’re feeling down. Whoever said that laughter is the best medicine, and you’ve got to have friends (hey, isn’t that a song?) said a lot, just in those two phrases.

  3. Music helps. I wrote a blog about something I needed to talk about that goes along with this, sort of, depression. New year, new day…but the fight continues ow.ly/aGNC9 . The question that comes to mind for me when you talk abou this is, what’s the difference between feeling “down” and being clinically “depressed?” Short term vs. longer term? Good luck with your new challenge.

    1. I’ll definitely have to check out your blog post on this, Suzanne. I must have missed it. There is a big difference between feeling “down” and being clinically depressed. Everyone gets down, sad, irritable, upset, angry, etc.–it’s all part of the human condition. But when those feelings hang around for more than two weeks, and other things come into play like eating and sleeping (too much or too little) and there doesn’t seem to be any joy or interest in your life, then you need to look deeper–and get help. It’s important that we recognize that depression is an illness, and just like any physical illness, sometimes we need professional help to deal with it. You wouldn’t tell someone with diabetes or cancer or even a broken bone–“oh, just get busy, and it will take your mind off of this and you’ll be fine.” You wouldn’t expect someone with a physical illness not to go to a doctor for help, or expect them to hide it. Yet, if someone is going to a psychiatrist for a mental illness, that’s not supposed to be talked about. Being honest about my mental and my physical health has helped me in so many ways, and yet I find ways to sabatoge it. Part of this new challenge for me is just trying to be more honest about what I eat (or don’t eat), and the exercise I do (or don’t do.) Having people following along and commenting helps more than you know.

      1. Very astute comments that summarize depression very well. It’s insidious and those who haven’t experienced it just don’t understand. So, yes, you do get the “stop whining and get on with your life” from some people. Others try to be sympathetic but still don’t understand. And just because you smile in public doesn’t make you less depressed.

        Seems I’m in good company. See Jan Wong’s story: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxNQq366gfU&sns=fb. Thanks to Virginia for posting this on my FB page where I posted about my blog.

        Keep writing and good luck with your newest venture.

      2. Suzanne, You’re so right that depression isn’t well understood, in spite of all of the media it’s received. Every year during Mental Health Week, we hear more stories, and promises that things are going to get better. But every year, there are more stories, and things really haven’t changed that much. I think some people are afraid of being diagnosed, because of the misunderstanding and stigmatism that is still prevalent. That was certainly true with Jan Wong. She didn’t want to admit that she had a problem, and that part of the problem was caused by the work she loved. I’ve heard a couple of interviews with her, and would like to read her book.

Leave a Reply

