DON’T TEMPT ME

As we all know, temptations are all around us, and they seem to jump out at us when we’re trying to change our habits.
Old habits are hard to break, and the older you are, or the more connected you are to those habits, the harder it is to resist temptation.

I’m going to be tempted today as I help celebrate my mother-in-law’s 96th birthday. There will be 11 of us–her five children, their spouses, and of course, Bessie, my wonderful mother-in-law. Getting all of us together is reason enough for celebration.

People will be having drinks before and with  dinner. There might be cake. How can I refuse? She’s 96! I don’t drink alcohol, so that’s easy–mineral water with some lemon or lime. When it comes to tempting sweets, that’s trickier for me. So, whatever dessert is offered, I’l have a small piece. Did I mention we’re celebrating her 96th birthday? I’d say that calls for a small sweet.
I’m not sure what else is on the menu or what options I’ll have that will fit with primal living. All I can do is make the best choice I can and not be tempted by  other delicious, but likely not so good for me, options.
I’ll let you know tomorrow how it all went. Meanwhile, I wish you good luck at staying away from your temptations.

2 thoughts on “DON’T TEMPT ME

  1. I will be facing the same temptations tomorrow. Two birthday parties, an 85th for grandma and 50th for a friend. If my 85 year old grandma tells me to eat cake, I have to eat cake!

Leave a Reply

