BACK ON THE HORSE

Have you heard that saying, “Good dress rehearsal, bad performance?” Well, you could say that I had a good dress rehearsal on Monday with the Living Primal Challenge, and then yesterday, Opening Day—well, it could have been better. It started out well, and it ended well, but mid-day was a bit of a bust.

I had every intention of getting out for a walk, but got lazy and chose to stay at the computer longer than I really needed to. I was productive, but by the end of the day I was too tired to go for that walk. I’ll have to figure out ways of getting it in before I get tired, and don’t want to go. My husband put together a great list of songs I can take with me that will keep me moving.

So I broke Rule #2:  Be Active.

I also strayed from Rule #1: Eat Real Food.  I had a small chicken wrap for lunch. Again, good intentions—I was going to have a small salad. But this particular place where I’d met a friend didn’t have any small salads. I also wanted some protein. So I opted for the chicken wrap. I could have unwrapped it and just eaten the chicken and toppings, but I didn’t think of that until later. I also could have bought the large salad and brought the rest home, but I didn’t think of that either. Planning is important when you’re going to eat out.

Between the chicken wrap and the lack of exercise I thought I could be in trouble because it was only Day 1 of this 30 day challenge.

But, there is another saying, “If you fall off the horse, the best thing is to get right back on.” And that’s what I did this morning.  Well, not literally, but you get my drift.

I started my day with that poached egg on salad breakfast I mentioned in “And So It Begins”  It was delicious, and gave me a good boost of energy for the morning—which I needed for a workout at Fitt For You, a Personal Fitness Training Studio in our neighbourhood. I’ve been going to F4U for many years. Owner and personal trainer Sheryl Cook has been instrumental in helping me to achieve my fitness goals over the years. But I hadn’t been for a while and it was time to get back. So I booked a session for 8:00 this morning. (That’s another challenge for me—getting up and out that early!) My husband faithfully goes to the studio at 8:00 on Wednesday mornings so I thought by booking at the same time it would give me motivation to keep going, as it is something we can do together.

So I fixed Rule #2 and I think I’ll do okay following the rest of the rules today.

Opening Day may have had a mid-day slump, but it got better and I’m back on the horse. This time I’ll do better. Or at least I’ll try.

Do you find it easy getting back on track? What are your secrets for sticking with a food plan or exercise routine?

6 thoughts on “BACK ON THE HORSE

  1. Wish I could help with this one, Christine, but I fall off the horse far too often and have a hard time getting back on. It used to be easier when Jim was more motivated to be active and we’d go skating or biking regularly, but now he seems to need motivation more than I do! You’re lucky that your husband sets a good example and you can join him to keep active. That’s a big help.

    Eating out is always a challenge. 🙂

    1. You do keep going, Judy, which inspires me, Judy. I am lucky that Jim is so disciplined. It makes it easier for me. The two of you may get out more as the weather gets better.

  2. Christine!

    I love reading your blog – and I especially respect your honesty!

    Lifestyle change is NOT EASY and while we are always shooting for 100%, realizing and accepting that this is likely going to yield you an 80% result is a huge part of being successful with this or any change. Let me clarify by saying, I’m not offering a cop-out! I’m simply suggesting that we could all stand to be a bit kinder to ourselves for our short-comings. This makes it easier to “get back on the horse” and carry on with our efforts, instead of engaging in more destructive behaviours such as negative self-talk and guilt.

    You are doing an amazing job of getting the word out there and keeping yourself accountable! Keep it up!!!!

    Carolyn Coffin
    http://www.livingprimal.ca

  3. Hang in there, Christine.

    I always take these programs or regimens and modify them slightly to fit my life. It still produces results, as I’m being more conscious of my body and what I put in it before I started any such program, but it doesn’t drive me nuts with the restrictions and protocol. I think the key to success is just being MINDFUL of everything we eat, drink and do. Good luck!

    1. You’re so right, Doreen about being MINDFUL. I’ll likely modify this program eventually,but for now I want to follow it as is. As I told someone else, I used to give up CHOCOLATE for Lent, which was 6 WEEKS! So I can give up grains for another 28 days. Then I’ll decide what I want to keep from the program.

Leave a Reply

