Building The Blog

I sometimes jump into things before I’m really ready. Writing this blog is a good example of that. I started it in December and now that we’re half-way through January, now I’m going to learn how to build a blog. This week I picked up a book  called “Building a WordPress Blog People Want to Read.” The author is Scott McNulty who is described as someone who “runs more WordPress blogs than anyone should and even has a few other blogs using other blogger engines.” He’s been at it for almost 10 years now, so I’m guessing he knows what he’s doing.

I’m likely going to find out that there are things I’ve been doing all wrong, and I’m certainly to find out ways to do things better with the blog. At least that’s what I’m hoping from this book. The way I look at it is, hey, at least I’m giving it my best shot.

When I started the blog, I thought I’d write mostly about health, specifically women’s health. So far, it seems like I’ve just written about my health. Time to get off that! I’m happy to report that everything I did last year working with The Best of Both Worlds is paying off and 2010 is looking like it will be a healthier year.

It also looks like it’s going to be a more prosperous year, as I already have a few new clients. Writing web content and building blogs may become a larger part of the services I provide. For a complete look at the work I do, please visit my website, www.CaptionsCommunications.ca

Back to the topic at hand—Building the Blog. There is so much I need to learn, and I’m not a very patient person. I want to just do it. That could explain why I rarely was interested in or did very well in math and science in school. There were too many rules and steps you had to show. I could sometimes figure out the answer, or do the experiment, but I couldn’t show the steps.(Some of my favourite television shows that I watch now deal with math and science—go figure.) I’m still not always very good at following rules and procedures. I sometimes tend to do things my own way and hope it all works out. A lot of the time, it has. Maybe  it might have worked out a bit better if I’d taken the time to learn more about what I was doing. I’m learning that by doing things in a slower, more methodical way, I may get where I want to go a lot faster. So, by following the steps outlined in Scott’s book, I may wind up having what his title promises: a blog that [more] people want to read.

I will still write articles about health, not mine, but health topics that interest me, and I hope others will find interesting. I hope I’ll cover other topics, and be able to do it in a way that shows people I really know what I’m talking about. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to add things to the blog that I don’t yet know how to do, which I hope will make it better.

The new year is young yet, and I’m encouraged by what it’s brought so far.I may have jumped in head first to the blogging world, but now that I’m getting my bearings, I think I’ll just take it easy and take my time navigating my way around.

2 thoughts on “Building The Blog

  1. Stick with it, Christine. I have the feeling you’ll love blogging once you’ve been with it for awhile. I know I sure do! (It’s been 11 months for me now.) Good luck in finding the voice you want to share.

    Doreen.

Leave a Reply

